Blog/Standuply review (2026): pricing bands, free plan, AI standups and who it fits
Standuply review (2026): pricing bands, free plan, AI standups and who it fits
The asyncmate team · September 9, 2026 · 12 min read
Standuply is the standup bot for teams that want the whole agile ceremony list inside Slack or Microsoft Teams, not just the daily standup. It has been around since 2016, it bundles retrospectives, planning poker, backlog refinement and 360-degree feedback with the standups, and it is the only bot in this category that takes voice and video answers. This review covers what it does well, what the free Starter plan actually includes, how the per-user price steps up as the team grows, what the AI and video features add, and the complaints that recur in user reviews. Everything is checked against Standuply's own pricing page and help centre as of September 9, 2026.
Full disclosure: we make asyncmate, a competing standup bot, and we have a Standuply alternative page that does the pricing arithmetic. This article is the review, not the pitch. Where Standuply is the better pick, we say so.
Standuply in one paragraph
Standuply asks each person the standup questions in Slack or Teams at a scheduled time, in their own timezone on paid plans, collects the answers, and posts a report to a channel. Around that core it runs retrospectives, planning poker, backlog refinement, sprint planning, 360-degree feedback, team polls and surveys, mood check-ins, OKR tracking and a company Q&A system, with task-tracker integrations for Jira, Trello, Asana, GitHub, GitLab and Bitbucket. Answers can be text, a quick-reply button, a voice message or a video. The company says it is used by 50,000 businesses and lists Intel, IBM, Walmart, Adobe and Google among them. Review volume is modest for a tool that old: 4.7 out of 5 on Capterra from 23 reviews, the same on GetApp.
What Standuply does well
The breadth. No other standup bot ships planning poker, backlog refinement and 360 feedback from the same install. A scrum team that wants estimation sessions and retros in Slack, with the standup as one of several ceremonies, gets the widest menu here, and the Jira integration ties responses to tickets so a report reflects the board rather than a memory of it.
Voice and video answers. Type /voice or /video and record up to five minutes in the browser; the recording is uploaded and shared as a link in the standup. It is on every plan, including the free one. For teams that find written updates flat, or for design and product people who would rather show than describe, it is a genuine differentiator, and by the help centre it also works outside standups as a plain messaging feature.
Timezone delivery. Asking people at their own local time is a paid-plan feature ("Ask people on their time zones" sits on the Team plan), and reviewers single it out as the thing that makes a distributed standup work. One reviewer calls Standuply the only bot where admins can adjust each person's timezone from the account.
Microsoft Teams. Standuply has run on Teams for years with the same features as Slack, and the help centre has a dedicated Teams section. Reviewers on the Teams side describe it as "perfectly integrated". For a Teams-first company the maturity there counts for a lot.
Trial and non-profit terms. Thirty days free with no card, and special plans for non-profits and educational organizations on request.
Standuply pricing in 2026, the short version
There are four plans on standuply.com/pricing: Starter, Team, Business and Enterprise. Team and Business are priced per user, and the rate depends on how many users you buy and whether you pay monthly or annually. The pricing page renders this as a dropdown and a toggle rather than a table, so here is what it shows, per user per month:
| Users | Team, annual | Team, monthly | Business, annual | Business, monthly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Up to 5 | $1.50 | $2 | $3.50 | $4 |
| 5 to 30 | $2.25 | $3 | $4.25 | $5 |
| Over 30 | $2.50 | $3.50 | $4.50 | $5.50 |
Both plans also sell a flat fee with no seat limit: Team from $149 a month on annual billing or $199 monthly, rising to $249 or $299 for the larger flat tier; Business from $249 or $299, rising to $349 or $399. Enterprise is priced on request and adds SSO and SIEM, centralized account management, a 99.99 percent uptime SLA and dedicated support.
Three details shape the bill more than the headline "from $1.50".
- The headline is the annual rate for five users or fewer. Month to month, the same seat is $2, and once the team passes 30 it is $3.50. The rate climbs with headcount, which is the opposite of the volume discount most SaaS buyers expect.
- A user is anyone added to a report. The pricing page defines a user as "a unique person who is added to any report set up in Standuply". Whether they answer that month does not matter. You choose the seat count and can raise or lower it, but the pruning is yours to do.
- The plan decides the ceremony list, not just the price. Planning poker, backlog refinement, 360 feedback, task-tracker surveys and scheduled collaboration meetings are Business only. A team that came for planning poker is on the $4 to $5.50 seat, not the $2 to $3.50 one.
For the arithmetic at a specific team size, the chart on our Standuply alternative page draws the bands against a flat rate. The rest of this review stays on Standuply itself.
The free Starter plan: what you get and what you do not
Starter is free and covers "automation and Q&A system for 3 users". Concretely, by the pricing page, that means unlimited to-dos, automated reports for up to three respondents, customizable questions, quick-reply buttons, video and voice messages, and holiday and vacation handling.
Three limits matter.
- Three respondents. A respondent is a Slack or Teams user added to the respondents section of any report or poll. A team of four is already on Team. This is the smallest free plan among the well-known standup bots; Geekbot and asyncmate both cover ten, DailyBot puts no cap on members.
- No timezone delivery and no web history. "Ask people on their time zones" and "Reports history on the Web" are both listed as Team features, so the free plan sends everyone at one time and keeps the record in Slack.
- No integrations. Jira, Trello, GitHub and the rest start on Team; the advanced set starts on Business.
Starter is a trial in all but name, and Standuply's own 30-day trial of the paid plans is the better way to evaluate it. For a two-person startup that wants a daily check-in with video answers, it is enough indefinitely.
AI standups, video and the rest of the toolkit
AI-Enhanced Standups. Standuply's AI is built on ChatGPT and works inside the conversation: it reads each answer and asks a follow-up when the answer lacks detail, so "working on the API" becomes a question about which endpoint and what is blocking it. The product pages also describe syncing with Jira so responses link to specific tasks, and adapting tone to each person. Which plan carries the AI is not stated on the pricing page as of September 2026, so ask before you rely on it.
Our read: the follow-up question is a different idea from a summary. It improves the quality of what goes in; it does not read the whole team's answers and tell the lead what shipped and who is blocked. If the read-it-for-me digest in the channel is what you want, that is the comparison to make, and ours is described on the AI standup digest page.
Planning poker and backlog refinement. Business-plan features that run estimation rounds in Slack against Jira tickets. Nobody else in this category does this, and for a scrum team that estimates weekly it can justify the Business seat on its own.
Retrospectives, 360 feedback, mood and OKRs. All run through the same report engine with templates. The 360 feedback and task-tracker surveys are Business only; retros and mood check-ins are on Team.
Collaboration meetings. Instant meetings on Team, scheduled ones on Business, for the sync conversations a standup surfaces.
Where reviewers push back
The reviews are positive overall, so weigh the criticisms in proportion. These recur on Capterra, GetApp and the third-party roundups.
- Configuration lives on the website. Everything is set up in the web control panel rather than in Slack, and reviewers wish reports and reminders were reachable from the chat. Geekbot gets the same complaint; it is the norm for the category.
- The interface. "Clunky interface and not transparent access management" and "too complicated in some places" come up more than once. The breadth that makes the product interesting also makes it a lot to navigate.
- Paying per added member. The complaint about "wanting to pay for adding extra team members" is a direct consequence of the billing basis: every person on a report is a seat, and a fast-growing team feels it.
- Occasional slowness. "Can be slow to load a few times a year" is minor but mentioned.
- No mobile app. Standuply runs inside Slack and Teams, which have mobile apps, but the dashboard has no app of its own.
- Integration depth. Some reviewers say the project-management integrations need work, which matters because they are the reason to be on the paid plans.
Who Standuply is right for
- Scrum teams that want the ceremonies, not just the standup. Planning poker, backlog refinement, retros and 360s from one bot is Standuply's real product, and nobody else offers the set.
- Teams that want video or voice updates. Five-minute recordings on every plan. If written standups have gone flat, this changes the format.
- Microsoft Teams shops. Years of Teams support with parity to Slack.
- Small teams on an annual plan. At $1.50 per user for five or fewer, the Team plan is the cheapest paid standup bot around, provided everyone on the report is active.
- Large teams that want a flat bill. The unlimited-user flat fee beats any per-person rate once headcount is high enough.
Who should look elsewhere
- Teams of four to ten that want a free plan. Starter stops at three respondents. Geekbot's free plan covers ten, and so does ours, with polls and reminders on top; the free Slack standup bot page compares them.
- Teams whose headcount is growing. The per-user rate steps up at five and again at thirty, and every person added to a report is billed whether or not they answer. A flat per-person rate that counts only people who answer is cheaper at every size above the free tier.
- Teams that want a daily AI summary. Standuply's AI asks better questions; it does not write the digest. Bots built around a channel summary, ours included, do a different job.
- Teams that want to stay in Slack. Setup and reporting happen on the website. If you want the standup configured and read without leaving the chat, look at the bots that do that.
Standuply and asyncmate in sixty seconds
| Standuply | asyncmate | |
|---|---|---|
| Platforms | Slack and Microsoft Teams | Slack, plus Microsoft Teams in beta |
| Standups, monthly billing | $2 to $3.50 per user on Team, stepping up with headcount | $2.50 per person who answers, flat |
| Annual billing | $1.50 to $2.50 per user; flat fee from $149 a month | No annual plan; $2.50 monthly, no commitment |
| Who is billed | Anyone added to a report | Only people who answer in that month |
| Free plan | 3 respondents, no timezone delivery, no web history | 10 people who answer; polls, reminders and kudos on top; 90 days of history |
| AI | ChatGPT follow-up questions inside the standup; tier not documented | AI digest of progress and blockers posted with every report, on Pro |
| Extras | Planning poker, backlog refinement, 360 feedback, voice and video answers | Polls, anonymous surveys, hours logging, kudos, blocker tracking, Notion export |
| Track record | Since 2016 | Newer |
Figures from standuply.com/pricing and our pricing page, September 9, 2026. Standuply is a trademark of its owner; asyncmate is not affiliated with Standuply.
The verdict
Standuply is the right tool for a specific team: one that runs scrum by the book and wants estimation, refinement, retros and the standup in one bot, on Slack or Teams, with the option of video answers. For that team the Business plan is worth its seat price and nothing else on the market replaces it. For a team that wants a daily standup and a readable report, the calculus is different: the free plan is three people, the per-user rate rises with headcount, everyone on a report is billed, and the AI improves answers rather than summarising them. Take the 30-day trial, count the people who will actually be on reports, and check the band your team lands in. If the ceremonies are the point, install it. If the standup is the point, the best standup bots for Slack roundup and our Standuply alternative page are the next two reads, and how the asyncmate Slack standup bot works shows the simpler loop end to end.
FAQ
Is Standuply free? There is a free Starter plan for up to 3 respondents, with unlimited to-dos, customizable questions, quick-reply buttons, video and voice messages and vacation handling. Timezone delivery, web report history and integrations start on the paid Team plan. Paid plans come with a 30-day free trial and no card is required.
How much does Standuply cost? Per user per month, the Team plan is $1.50, $2.25 or $2.50 on annual billing for teams of up to 5, 5 to 30, and over 30, or $2, $3 and $3.50 on monthly billing. Business is $3.50 to $4.50 annual or $4 to $5.50 monthly across the same bands. Flat fees with no seat limit start at $149 a month (annual) or $199 (monthly) for Team. Enterprise is priced on request.
Who counts as a user on Standuply? By the pricing page, "a unique person who is added to any report set up in Standuply". Being on the report is what counts, not answering it. You set the seat count yourself and can adjust it up or down.
Does Standuply have AI? Yes. AI-Enhanced Standups use ChatGPT to ask follow-up questions when an answer lacks detail, and the product pages describe syncing with Jira and adapting tone per person. Which plan includes it is not stated on the pricing page as of September 2026.
Does Standuply work with Microsoft Teams? Yes, and it has for years. The help centre has a dedicated Microsoft Teams section covering install, removal and troubleshooting, and reviewers describe the Teams integration as mature.
Can people answer a Standuply standup by video?
Yes. /video and /voice record up to five minutes in the browser and share the recording as a link, on every plan including Starter.
Is Standuply worth it? For a scrum team that wants planning poker, backlog refinement, retros and 360 feedback alongside the standup, yes, and nothing else in the category offers that bundle. For a team that only wants the standup, compare the per-user bands and the anyone-on-a-report billing against a flat rate that bills only the people who answer before committing to a year.